Gluten lurks in the most unsuspecting places. And even some foods widely considered to be “healthy” are not at all healthy for someone who is intolerant to gluten. If you’re avoiding gluten because you have celiac disease or have non-celiac gluten sensitivity, pay attention to these foods:

  1. Spelt bread– You might see some healthy-looking bread in the freezer aisle that is made from spelt, and you think to yourself, “That’s not wheat so it must be okay for me.” Nope. Spelt is an ancient type of wheat, and it absolutely contains gluten, so definitely avoid it.
  2. Oatmeal– Oatmeal is super healthy, right? And it’s not wheat, rye, or barley, so it’s gluten-free, right? Well, yes and no. Oats do not contain gluten, but oats are very often contaminated with wheat during harvesting and processing, so for that reason, consume only certified gluten-free oats. The good news is that you can find them in most supermarkets now. Bob’s Red Mill makes some, and Trader Joe’s has their own brand.
  3. Granola and granola bars– Delicious and convenient, yes, but these usually contain gluten. I’m seeing lots and lots more gluten-free versions out there, so be sure to read labels and find ones that state on the package that they are gluten-free.
  4. Soup– Soup is often a healthy food, but many times it’s thickened with wheat flour or contains a broth with wheat or barley in its ingredients. For canned soups purchased at a supermarket, check the label carefully. There are gluten-free canned soups out there. When at a restaurant, unless the soup is specified to be gluten-free, assume that it is not.
  5. Restaurant omelets– When dining at a restaurant for breakfast, an omelet is a great choice IF the omelet doesn’t contain any gluten. Believe it or not, some restaurants actually add flour to their omelet mixes to fluff it up! So always check with them to find out if they are using real eggs to make your omelet, or a mix with flour added.

Remember, always check labels, and when in doubt, leave it out.

Get your 10 free and delicious gluten-free recipes available for download here:

5 “Healthy” Foods That Actually Contain Gluten
Celiac-Friendly 3-Day Meal Plan

Are you gluten-free and wondering what to eat? Instantly download this time-saving 3-day meal plan with complete grocery shopping list. It's gluten-free, dairy-free, and 100% delicious! In addition, you'll receive my short and sweet, but always helpful Sunny Life Wellness newsletter.

We respect your privacy and will not sell or share your info.